To view the poster program please click here

Back to overview


Towards radiation tolerant materials: Evaluation of radiation effects in interface-rich, nanostructured Cu-Fe-Ag

Thursday (27.09.2018)
15:30 - 15:45 S1/01 - A03
Part of:

Newest developments in nuclear fission and fusion technology as well as planned long distance space missions demand novel materials to withstand harsh, irradiative environments. The main challenges for materials deployed in these applications are hardening and embrittlement as well as material swelling, originating from accommodation and clustering of radiation-induced defects. A promising approach to mitigate these property changes is the introduction of interfaces to the material, where defects can migrate to and annihilate. In this work, interface-rich Cu-Fe-Ag nanocomposites (ultra-fine grained, nanocrystalline and nanoporous) were produced via High Pressure Torsion and electrochemical dealloying. The differently structured materials were irradiated with protons and helium-ions and their response in mechanical properties was investigated via nanoindentation. The helium-induced swelling was measured using atomic force microscopy. All investigated materials were proven to show tolerance against proton-irradiation, which can be attributed to the interplay of defect annihilation, a low dislocation density prior to the irradiation and the creation of dislocation sources due to radiation. Based on the swelling and hardness measurements after helium-ion implantation, a bubble formation and –growth model was developed in this work, suggesting that helium bubble size and density does not solely depend on the helium dose but also on the interface-spacing within the material.

Michael Wurmshuber
Montanuniversität Leoben
Additional Authors:
  • David Frazer
    University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Andrea Bachmaier
    Austrian Academy of Sciences / Erich Schmid Institute of Materials Science
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Hosemann
    University of California, Berkeley
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Kiener
    Montanuniversität Leoben